Portrait of Dorothea Karalus

Dorothea has been climbing with dedication for more than twelve years now and she is still addicted to that indescribable feeling of moving on nice rock. She enjoys climbing on all kinds of different types of rock, different holds and angles and likes trying to be a well rounded climber in many different styles. What she love most are technical boulder problems especially on small holds. However, for her climbing has a lot more to offer than only the sports side of it, climbing higher and higher difficulties. Traveling is a huge part of climbing for her, but also just being outside enjoying the nature is something she cannot even imagine not having in her life.

Discipline: Climbing

Currently Living: Frankenjura, Germany

Height: 160 cm

Career Highlights: 

Fragile Steps (8B), Rocklands; Partage (8A+), Fontainebleau; FA of In the Cloud (8A+), Grampians; Pura Vida (8A+), Magic Wood; Duel (8A), Fontainebleau; FA of Auf leisen Pfoten (8A), Ticino; Marilyn Monroe (8A), Ticino; Dead Can’t Dance (8A), Grampians; Headcrash (8c), Frankenjura, Germany

When did you first start climbing/skiing?

I’ve been pretty much climbing my whole life, as my parents climb too. So I’ve been ‘dragged’ all over climbing areas in Europe as a kid, though I found my own passion for the sport only twelve years ago… and I’ve been hooked ever since!

What do you most enjoy about your sport? 

It’s a combination of the movement, being outside and that climbing offers goals to work for, places to travel and people to meet for more than a lifetime. 

How do you define success? 

Reaching some kind of a goal usually defines success, but that goal can be one of very many things. Of course it can be sending or making progress on the boulder/route I am trying, but I’d say if you only come home a little happier, it was a successful day.

What are you most proud of, either in life, your sport or both? 

Managing to climb hard and travel a lot while earning my M.Sc. in Biochemistry as best of class… and then starting from scratch again pursuing a career as a software developer.

What inspires you? 

Anyone who has a passion that is willing to work hard for it. 

What are your hobbies outside of your sport? 

I do a bit of yoga, it feels very complementary to climbing. I love learning new things, though at the moment that need is definitely fulfilled by my job.

What’s your guilty pleasure? 

Good cheese, dark chocolate.

What are your hidden talents?

I don’t think I found them yet :)

Tell us about your most favorite place in the world:

Ohhh there are so many nice places. I love the fresh mountain air in Ticino, Switzerland, the forest of Fontainebleau, France, the smell of eucalyptus and the bird chatter in the Grampians of Australia.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up? 

Nature scientist (without knowing what that even is).

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be, and why?

Learning to sleep more?

Describe your perfect day: 

A perfect day definitely involves climbing, sunshine, friends and being outside the whole day. The simple life!

How would your friends describe you?

Sunny, positive, focused, ambitious.